• Conference-attendees-2014.jpg
  • Martin-Chapa-w.-Tom-Rowland-2014.jpg
  • NEOCA-New-York-2012.jpg
  • NEOCA-outgoing-president-Will-Amos-2014.jpg
  • Tom-Rowland-and-Dr.-Mitchem.jpg
  • Tom-Rowland-and-friends.jpg

NEOCA Scholarship


NEOCA has awarded two scholarships to help cover recipients' educational expenses during the 2017-18 or 2018-19 academic years.

The $1000 HS Equivalency Diploma to Postsecondary Enrollment Scholarship awarded to Maria del P. Garcia Cardenas from the Educational Opportunity Center, Miami Dade College, InterAmerican Campus.

  • Nominated by Stephanie Wong, Director

Maria is completing her Associate’s in Arts and plans to transfer to a four-year university. She is working toward completing a Bachelor’s in Nursing and eventually, a Master’s of Science, Doctor of Nursing Practice, specializing in Family and Women’s Health.

Her goal is to serve her community and address their medical needs and eventually establish a free clinic.

While pursuing her studies, Maria as maintained a 4.0 GPA. She volunteers a several community events while balancing school, work and adapting to a new country. She has been in the United States for 1 year.

The $1000 Postsecondary Enrollment Scholarship awarded to Ontieria Ratliff from the Project SUCCESS Educational Opportunity Center, Chicago State University.

  • Nominated by Dr. Nayshon Mosley, Director

Ontieria, a former business owner and community advocate without a high school diploma, she came into the EOC program in 2017 and obtained her GED within four months with the assistance of the EOC staff.

She is active in her church as the Vice President of Youth Ministry and Sunday School Teacher and serves on the Chicago Police Departments 5th District Pastoral Subcommittee.

Since enrolling in college and working on her Associates degree in Psychology, she has a 3.5 GPA and plans to work towards a doctorate degree in Clinical Psychology.

She is amazed at the assistance she has received from her EOC program director.

NEOCA 2018 Scholarship Committee
Chair: Dr. Nancy Nelson, Indian Hills Community College EOC
Cyndi Harrelson, NEOCA Executive Board President
Kathy Martin, University of Northern Iowa EOC